PsyToolkit has been created over many years. Without the fantastic set of free software tools availble and the support from students and colleagues, this would not have been possible. It is difficult to mention the many software packages that have made PsyToolkit possible, but here are some of the most important.

Special thanks goes to…​

The foundation the software is based on

  • The Linux operating system

  • The Gnu software environment

  • The programming language Ruby

  • The programming language and compiler Gnu C/C++

  • Javascript

  • The SDL graphics C-library for Linux

  • The various Linux distributions I use, in particular Fedora and Ubuntu

  • The R statistical analysis software

The PsyToolkit website are made with

  • The AsciiDoctor markup language and HTML rendering tool

  • The Apache webserver for hosting PsyToolkit

  • for the html editors in the survey setup

  • Beautiful css patterns for the background of the login screen

The tools used for creating documentation

The software used for creating PsyToolkit stimuli

  • The drawing program Inkscape

  • The audio software Audacity

For direct PsyToolkit support

  • The people who sponsor PsyToolkit with a donation

  • The many students and colleagues who give me feedback

  • Dr. Felix Frey for the Ultra response box and documentation (Linux only)

  • Cedrus, IOlab, and BlackBox (Linux only)

  • The Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)

  • The Association for Teachers of Psychology (ATP)

For help with translations

Different people are listed when different people helped with updating different updated versions. They did not work together on one translation.
  • Ferenc Kocsor (Hungarian)

  • Xianqian Li and Xuhong Liu (Simplified Chinese)

  • Sau Chin Chen (Traditional Chinese)

  • Pau Soldevila and Sergio Urra Roco (Spanish)

  • Yoana Velikova (Bulgarian)

  • Helen Chun, Claudia Picard-Deland, Melanie Brouillard (French)

  • Eda Kocar, Adil Saribay, and Mehmet Umut Mutlu (Turkish)

  • Afroditi Makou (Greek)

  • Luca Caricati and Claudia Pelagatti and Tommaso Procopio (Italian)

  • Isa Lykke Hansen (Danish)

  • Edyta Michalik and Jakub Jędrusiak (Polish)

  • Daniel Hadar (Hebrew)

  • Abeer Alharbi (Arabic)

  • João Valente and João Carvalho (Portugese)

  • Samuli Kangaslampi (Finnish)

  • Ioana Toma (Romanian)

  • Jonathan Kim and Martine Aune (Norwegian)

  • Jaroslav Točík (Czech)

  • Alice Paul and (German)

  • Yasuhiro Mochizuki and Naohide Yamamoto and Takumi Kosaka (Japanese)

  • Behtab Abuali and Atefeh Talebnejad (Farsi)

  • Md. Imran Hossain (Bengali)

  • Ana Werkmann Horvat, Ruben Betlehem (Croatian)

  • Mankyung Kim (Korean)

  • André Rabelo (Brazilian Portugese)

  • David Ekerlin (Swedish)

  • Jonathan Kim (Te Reo, Māori language spoken in New Zealand)

  • Jayde McLoughlin (Afrikaans and IsiXhosa, both part of the official languages spoken in South Africa)

  • Ursa Bernardic (Slovene)

  • Eurisa Rukovci (Albanian)

  • Pornjira Pariwatcharakul (Thai)

  • Sunu Bagaskara (Indonesian)

  • Sirri Ammar (Malay, spoken in Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, and parts of Thailand)

  • Helo Liis Soodla (Estonian)

  • Mithilesh Tiwari (Hindi)

  • Kotryna Mažikytė (Lithuanian, Lietuvių)

  • Milana Damjenic (Serbian ijekavica dialect, in Latin alphabet)

  • Ronald Cinks (Latvian)

  • Vietnamese (Josiane Riverin-Coutlée)

  • Slovak (Pavol Bielik)